The Maine Association of School Libraries (MASL) provides connections for creating and advancing effective school library programs through professional development, advocacy, and community-building.

MASL's Current and Past 

Award Winners

Follow these links to see more extensive information about MASL's current recipients for each award.

MASL Administrator of the Year

 Walter J Taranko Library Media Specialist of the Year

MASL Support Staff Award of the Year

Or scroll down the current page to find a complete list of past winners for all three awards.

MASL's Honor Roll of Library Media Specialists of the Year

Established 1979


Year   Recipent School 


 Jane Anne Cooper

Asa Adams Elementary School


 Betty Pettis

Auburn Middle School


 None given (Special Awards)



 Ken Patten

Auburn Schools


 Jeff Small

University of Maine Presque Isle


 Shirley Helfrich



 None given (Special Awards)



 Jeanne Pernice

Winslow High School


 Janet Anderson

Mt. Ararat High School


 Jo Hipsher

Brunswick High School


 Diane Barth



 Jo Coyne & Linda Lord

 Medomak HS/Mt. View HS


 Deborah H. Davis

 Sedamocha/ Dover Foxcroft
 1992  Gail Garthwait  Asa Adams Elementary School
 1993  Thomas G. Peterson  Windham High School
 1994  Linda Hazzard  Belfast
 1995  Karen Guter  Yarmouth High School
 1996  Jodi Breau  Messalonskee High School
 1997  Susan Leiter  Connors Emerson Elementary School Bar Harbor
 1998  David Anderson  Thornton Academy
 1999  Toni Buzzeo  

 Award renamed Walter J Taranko LMS of the Year

 2000  Dr Tamara Blesh  Gardiner Area High School
 2001  Pam Goucher  Freeport Middle School
 2002  Francine Aley  Boothbay Harbour High School
 2003  Deborah Locke  Westbrook High School
 2004  Kathy Foss  
 2005  Kelley McDaniel  King Middle School
 2006  Mary Moore  Freeport High School
 2007  Nancy Grant  Penquis Valley
 2008  Betsy York  Central Aroostook High School
 2009  Debbie Gahm  Lake Region High School

 No Award Given

 2011 No Award Given 
 2012  Fred Weinberg  Mt. Ararat High School
 2013  Joanna Bachelder  Halldale Middle High School
 Award renamed Walter J. Taranko Award  
 2014 No Award Given 
 2015 Peggy Stevens-Becksvoort Falmouth Middle School
 2016  Lynn Mayer Old Town Elementary School
 2017  Cathy Potter  Falmouth Elementary School
 2018 Debra Butterfield Gardiner Area High School
 2019 Laura Phelps  Phippsburg Elementary School
 2020 Crystal Shamas-Douglas Erkine Academy

MASL's Honor Roll of Library Support Staff of the Year

Established 2014

Year Recipent School
 2014 Patricia Jenkins Bangor High School
 2015 No Award Given 
 2016 Charlotte Violette  Piscataquis Community Elementary School
 2017 Becky Casey  Foxcroft Academy
 2018No Award Given 
 2019No Award Given  
 2020No Award Given  

MASL's Honor Roll of Administrators of the Year

 Year Recipent School
 1989 Rufus Ainsley 
 1990 J. Duke Albanese 
 1991 Paul Johnson 
 1993 Mark C. Flight 
 1997 Barbara Neilly 
 1999 Jay B. Bartner 
 2004 Geraldine Massey Cony High School
 2005 Jan Breton Westbrook School System
 2007 Mark Hatch Messalonskee Middle School
 2009 James Anastasio Cony High School
 2010 Anne Chamberlain Rumford Elementary School
 2012 Arnold Shorey Foxcroft Academy
 2014 Andy Wallace South Portland Schools
 2015 Janet Adams & Rick Hogan Falmouth Middle School
 2016 Suzanne Day SAD 55
 2017 Elizabeth Fowler  Dyer Elementary School, South Portland
 2018 Kelli Crosby Wentworth Intermediate School
 2019 Dr. Josh Ottow  Mt. Ararat Middle School
 2020 Chris Hoffman Greely High School

NEW MASL Mailing Address:

Maine Association of School Libraries (MASL)

c/o Maine State Library

64 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0064

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software